Skip to main content

Animal Research Advisory Committee (ARAC)

The Animal Research Advisory Committee (ARAC) meets monthly, or as needed, and is chaired by Dr. Richard Wyatt (Deputy Director, OIR/OD); the vice-chair is Dr. David Bodine (NHGRI). Committee members include:

  • Animal Care and Use Committee (ACUC) chairs from each Institute or Center (IC) that uses animals in research
  • Director, Office of Animal Care and Use (OACU),
  • Representatives from the Division of Occupational Health and Safety (DOHS), Office of General Counsel (OGC), and the NIH Fellows Committee (FELCOM)
  • A community member
  • The ARAC Ombudsman, whose role is to review outside complaints and inter-Institute animal care and use issues and also to minimize interruption in the conduct of research

NOTE: NIH Intramural Animal Program Directors attend meetings but are not members.

In addition to advising the Deputy Director for Intramural Research (DDIR) on the NIH Intramural Research Program’s (IRP's) program for the humane care and use of animals, the ARAC supports the IRP's adherence to standards of the National Research Council's Institute of Laboratory Animal Research Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals. ARAC also reviews IC and/or trans-NIH concerns involving the care and use of animals at NIH following investigation, deliberation, and resolution by the IC ACUCs. Further, ARAC drafts and recommends policy and guidance concerning various practices and procedures in the intramural NIH Animal Care and Use program to the Institutional Official (who is also the DDIR).


Dr. Richard Wyatt

Dr. David M. Bodine
Vice-Chair, ARAC

Dr. Stephen Denny, OACU
Mr. Kristine Adams, AWIC (Non-Affiliated Member)
Dr. David Bodine, NHGRI (ARAC Ombudsman)
Donald Bordine, OACU (Executive Secretary)
Dr. Don Cook, NIEHS
Dr. Xizhong Cui, CC
Dr. Bruce Cumming, NEI
Dr. Michael Eckhaus, ORS/DVR & NCATS
Dr. Massimo Gadina, NIAMS
Dr. Bin Gao, NIAAA
Dr. Alex Hoffman, NIDA
Dr. Mark Hoon, NIDCR
Dr. Estella Jones, NIAID/DCR
Dr. Jeff Long, NIA

Dr. James Mitchell, NCI
Dr. Tish Murphy, NHLBI
Dr. Gurueswar Nagarajan, NIMH (FELCOM)
Dr. Constance Noguchi, NIDDK
Dr. Karl Pfeifer, NICHD
Dr. Mario Roederer NIAID/VRC
Dr. Afonso Silva, NINDS, NIDCD, & NCCIH
Dr. Olivia Steele-Mortimer, NIAID/RML
Ms. Kate Tapley, J.D, OD/OGC (Ex-Officio)
Dr. Ted Torrey, NIAID/DIR
Dr. Ted Usdin, NIMH
Ms. Cindy Wallace, Alamogordo Primate Facility
Dr. Deborah Wilson, ORS/DOHS
Vacant, OER

The page was last updated on Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 11:41am